Home > Islam > CCM and CIM

CCM and CIM

And unto David We gave the Psalms. (Koran 17:55, Pickthall)


Praise the Lord with the harp; make melody to Him with an instrument of ten strings. Sing to Him a new song; play skillfully with a shout of joy. (Psalm 33:2,3, NKJV)

I first discovered Contemporary Christian Music (CCM) during my college days back in the 1970s. I used to listen to the Pat Terry Group, Amy Grant, and many others. I still like to listen to CCM every now and then although I, as an Orthodox Christian, might disagree with some of the theology in some of the songs. There is also something which I call Contemporary Islamic Music (CIM). I do not know what the Muslims call it. There are some really great songs that many of the Muslim singers sing which we Christians would agree with and also enjoy. In this blog post, I am going to display a few CIM videos and a few CCM videos. I hope that my readers enjoy them.

“The Power” by Maher Zain

“Insha Allah” by Maher Zain

“Time Waits for No One” by Junaid Jamshed and the Native Deen

“Hello” by Omar Esa

“Hijab” by some Muslim women

“Never in Our Name” by Iman Farrar

“The Way of Love” by Maher Zain

I disagree with some things that Maher Zain says about Muhammad in the previous video. I do not believe that Muhammad is the source of truth. (God is the source of all truth.) There are some other things that he says in the video about Muhammad that I do not accept. I will simply let the Koran and the Bible say what needs to be said. Ponder on the Koran. (Koran 4:82; 38:29)

And Muhammad is no more than a messenger; the messengers have already passed away before him. (Koran 3:144, Shakir)

We believe in that which hath been revealed unto us and revealed unto you; our God and your God is One, and unto Him we surrender. (Koran 29:46, Pickthall)

Let the People of the Gospel judge by that which Allah hath revealed therein. Whoso judgeth not by that which Allah hath revealed: such are evil-livers. (Koran 5:47, Pickthall)

Jesus is the Light

He does have a great Mother’s Day song though.

“The Number One for Me” by Maher Zain

Here are some CCM videos.

“Awesome God” by Michael W. Smith

“El Shaddai” by Amy Grant

“You Raise Me Up” by Josh Groban

“The Lost Get Found” by Britt Nicole

I hope everyone has enjoyed the videos. I just wanted to make known to my fellow Christians that there is such a thing as Contemporary Islamic Music. Listen to the CIM songs and the CCM songs. Compare and contrast.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

